The Pacific Lumber Inspection Bureau (PLIB) is accredited by the American Lumber Standards Committee (ALSC), the Canadian Lumber Standards Accreditation Board (CLSAB), North America’s only lumber grading accreditation bodies, and by the International Accreditation Service (IAS), a nonprofit, public-benefit corporation and a subsidiary of the International Code Council (ICC), the governing body that develops the International Building Code (IBC). Under IAS certificate AA-675, PLIB is accredited to ISO/IEC 17020:2012 as an inspection agency for Wood Trusses, Structural Glued-laminated Beam (Glulam), and Cross-Laminated Timber (CLT).

Under ALSC and CLSAB, PLIB is a certified and accredited inspection agency for most established sets of lumber grade rules used in the U.S. and Canada including:

  • Pacific Lumber Inspection Bureau (PLIB)/West Coast Lumber Inspection Bureau (WCLIB) rules
  • National Lumber Grade Association (NLGA) rules
  • Redwood Inspection Service (RIS) rules
  • Western Wood Products Association (WWPA) rules
  • Southern Pine Inspection Bureau (SPIB) rules (portions)

ALSC and CLSAB accreditations also include glued, machine-graded (MSR and MEL), and heat-treated (HT) lumber.

ALSC also recognizes PLIB as a rules-writing agency and has approved Standard No. 18 Grading Rules for West Coast Lumber, written and maintained by PLIB/WCLIB.

In addition to North American domestic grade rules, PLIB has a long history of supporting overseas export lumber trade by providing supervisory services for other international grades and standards including:

  • PLIB Export R-List Grading and Dressing Rules.
  • CE Marking (European Union)
  • Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service (AQIS) Certification
  • British Standard 4978 (UK)
  • Coast Forest and Lumber Association (CFLA) JPS 1 (formerly known as the Japan E 120 rule)
  • HT certification (required by many foreign countries)

PLIB also has Memorandums of Understanding with the USDA Animal Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) and is recognized by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA).